2017 OPWA Supplier Award Winner – Joe Johnson Equipment

JJE receives inaugural OPWA Supplier Award in 2018

The Ontario Public Works Association (OPWA) Supplier Award is being established this year to recognize a public works supplier that exemplifies support of the industry and organization.

Joe Johnson Equipment is the recipient of the inaugural OPWA Supplier Award.  JJE is Canada’s largest infrastructure-maintenance company, and one of the most significant contributors to OPWA’s success.  For more than 30 years, JJE employees have supported OPWA, serving on the Board of Directors and various committees, contributing to many of the association’s strategic initiatives and helping out with events, large and small.  Joe Johnson Sr. served as OPWA President in 1987, helping spearhead the first APWA Congress held in Toronto in 1988.  Joe Johnson Jr. served as OPWA President first in 2003 and then again in 2013, and for the past three years, Jeff Johnson has helped lead the OPWA’s Strategic Plan efforts.  JJE were a key supporter of the 2014 APWA Congress held in Toronto and the company continues be a major sponsor of OPWA and its events. In 2013, JJE was recognized as one of Canada’s Best Managed Companies, and maintained that status in the following years, due in large part to the company’s support of Ontario municipalities and JJE’s deep-rooted involvement in the public works industry in Canada. 

While for this inaugural award, the OPWA Board of Directors has selected Joe Johnson Equipment as the recipient, please note that for future years, OPWA will be soliciting nominations and selecting an award winner based on the nominations received.  The selection process will be similar to the Project of the Year and Innovation Awards selection process.  In the coming months, criteria and nomination forms for the 2018 Award will be available on the OPWA website.  The nomination submission deadline for the 2018 Award will be November 1, 2018. 

Pictured above:

Top Row – from left to right: Chris Vanderhof, Director of Sales; Melanie Hines, Road Service Manager; Angela Watson, Marketing Manager; Jason Hannah, VP of Sales.

Bottom Row – from left to right: Joe Johnson, President; Teresa Johnson, Co-Founder; Jeff Johnson, VP of Sales.

Skip to content